The Politics of Resentment Chapters 3-6

Cramer does an overall noteworthy job writing her explanations to get readers like me from urban areas to understand that the rural consciousness is rooted in place. Reading through the concerns of those from rural areas, I unconsciously reacted with, “oh, well, urban schools are just as underfunded, and healthcare is just as much of an issue.” Still, Cramer shows through her analysis that with rural consciousness, perspectives, opinions, and beliefs are tied to an identity that intersects with a physical place. Cramer refers to rural folks as “… in that category with being a person who is systematically ignored and left out of the exercise of power” (Cramer 66). If Cramer views rural folks as the sole ones within this category, I’m not sure. Still, I would assume otherwise, seeing that minoritized populations have been systemically oppressed, neglected, and ignored since the founding of this country. I’m not sure this is what Cramer means, but I have interpreted this so far. 

On another note, these chapters made me reflect on my conversations with people who would identify with growing up in a rural area. When they spoke of their schools and graduating classes, often the kids grew up together through the schools, creating familial-like connections with one another and their environment. For many parents, there is this sense of pride and satisfaction when their children attend their alma mater’s, and it creates tradition. But often than not, defunding of programs and school closings in rural areas are not publicized, adding an issue of lack of media coverage for rural areas. Again, I think these issues can be translated to some urban communities, so it is difficult to see this perspective entirely. 

Leave a comment